OOMD News

Biology and Beyond in the Arctic 2 October 2017

Biology and Beyond in the Arctic

Third article in our Summer Series

What is IASOA? 5 September 2017

What is IASOA?

Summer Series about the Arctic Research Program

Variability and trends in surface seawater pCO2 and CO2 flux in the Pacific Ocean 16 June 2017

Variability and trends in surface seawater pCO2 and CO2 flux in the Pacific Ocean

Variability and change in the ocean sink of anthropogenic carbon dioxide (CO2) have implications for future climate and ocean acidification.

A reconstruction of the South Atlantic Meridional Overturning Circulation 1 June 2017

A reconstruction of the South Atlantic Meridional Overturning Circulation

A paper in Geophysical Research Letters highlights the importance of sustaining and combining ocean observing platforms with satellite observations

NOAA's Climate Program Office Announces FY18 Federal Funding Opportunities 16 May 2017

NOAA's Climate Program Office Announces FY18 Federal Funding Opportunities

CPO’s programs are seeking applications for 7 individual competitions in FY 2018 for an estimated $10 million available and approximately 100 new awards pending budget appropriations. It is anticipated that most awards will be at a funding level between $50,000 and $300,000 per year, with some exceptions for larger awards. Visit cpo.noaa.gov/GrantsandProjects.aspx for more detailed information and instructions.

RSS

Division Chief, Ocean Observing and Monitoring

Dr. David Legler
Division Chief, OOMD
P: 301-734-2460
F: 301-427-0033
E: david.legler@noaa.gov

Monica Morales
Executive Assistant, OOMD, Riverside Technology, Inc.
P: 301-427-2466
E: monica.morales@noaa.gov

Claudia Perez
Program Support, Riverside Technology, Inc.
P: 301-427-2461
E: claudia.perez@noaa.gov


Contact OCO

Dr. James Todd
Program Manager, OceanSITES 
P: 301-734-1258
F: 301-427-0033
E: james.todd@noaa.gov

Dr. Steve Piotrowicz
Program Manager, ARGO
P: 301-427-2493
F: 301-427-0033
E: steve.piotrowicz@noaa.gov

Dr. Sid Thurston
Program Manager of International Development
P: 301-427-2459
F: 301-427-0033
E: sidney.thurston@noaa.gov

Megan Raymond
Operations Manager, Climate Operation Division, LCDR
P: 301-427-2465
E: megan.raymond@noaa.gov

Dr. Kathy Tedesco (UCAR)
Program Manager, 
Ocean Climate Observations 

P: 301-427-2462
E: kathy.tedesco@noaa.gov

Dr. Emily Smith
Program Manager, GLOSS and Communications Specialist
P: 301-427-2463
E: emily.smith@noaa.gov

Dr. Shelby LaBuhn (Knauss Fellow)
P: 301-427-2473
E: shelby.laBuhn@noaa.gov


Contact Arctic Research

Dr. Jeremy Mathis
Director, Arctic Research Program (CPO)
P: 301-427-2470
E: jeremy.mathis@noaa.gov

Monique Baskin
P: 301-427-2423
E: monique.baskin@noaa.gov

Dr. Emily Osborne
Knauss Fellow
P: 301-427-2467
E: emily.osborne@noaa.gov

ABOUT OUR ORGANIZATION

Americans’ health, security and economic wellbeing are tied to climate and weather. Every day, we see communities grappling with environmental challenges due to unusual or extreme events related to climate and weather. In 2011, the United States experienced a record high number (14) of climate- and weather-related disasters where overall costs reached or exceeded $1 billion. Combined, these events claimed 670 lives, caused more than 6,000 injuries, and cost $55 billion in damages. Businesses, policy leaders, resource managers and citizens are increasingly asking for information to help them address such challenges.

CONTACT US

Climate Program Office
1315 East-West Hwy, Suite 1100
Silver Spring, MD 20910

CPO.webmaster@noaa.gov