Dr. David Legler joins CPO as the new Division Chief for the Climate Observation Division

  • 15 April 2011
Dr. David Legler joins CPO as the new Division Chief for the Climate Observation Division
Sea surface temperatures
Fig. 5.1. (a) Mean sea surface temperature [SST in °C] in August 2015. White shading is the August 2015 mean sea-ice extent. (b) Mean SST in August 2012; white shading is the August 2012 sea-ice extent. Grey contours in (a) and (b) indicate the 10°C SST isotherm. (c) SST anomalies [°C] in August 2015 relative to the August mean for the period 1982-2010; white shading is the August 2015 mean ice extent and the black line indicates the median ice edge in August for the period 1982-2010. (d) SST anomalies [°C] in August 2015 relative to August 2014; white shading is the August 2015 mean ice extent and the black line indicates the median ice edge for August 2014. Sea-ice extent and ice edge data are from the National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSIDC).
We are pleased to announce that Dr. David Legler has joined NOAA's Climate Program Office as the new Division Chief for the Climate Observation Division.

Dr. Legler brings many years of leadership as Director of the U.S. CLIVAR Project Office, as well as his research career in areas of ocean remote sensing, air-sea interaction, air-sea fluxes, and application of climate information in agriculture. He also co-chaired the WOCE Data Products Committee for several years and was on the planning team for both OceanObs99 and OceanObs09.

We would like to acknowledge the stewardship of Dr. David Goodrich who served as interim Chief for the year prior to David's joining us. We wish him well in his current endeavor of educating today's youth about climate while he cycles across the US.

Over the past several years, the Climate Observation Division has undergone several changes. The current contact list below indicates current Division responsibilities:

David M Legler, Division Chief
david.legler@noaa.gov
301- 427-2460

Diane Stanitski, OceanSites, Shiptime, Education/Outreach
Diane.stanitski@noaa.gov
301-427-2465

Candyce Clark, Tropical Moored Buoys, JCOMM
Candyce.clark@noaa.gov
301-427-2463

Sidney Thurston, International Coordinator, Shiptime
Sidney.thurston@noaa.gov
301-427-2459

Joel Levy, Editor of the Sustained Global Ocean Observing System for Climate Annual Report;
Editor of the ocean component of the BAMS State of the Climate Report

Joel.levy@noaa.gov
301-427-2462

Steve Piotrowicz, Argo Program Manager
Steve.piotrowicz@noaa.gov
301-427-2493

John Calder, Arctic Program Manager
John.calder@noaa.gov
301-427-2470

Kathy Crane, Arctic Program Manager
Kathy.crane@noaa.gov
301-427-2471

Gillian Lichota, Arctic Program
Gillian.lichota@noaa.gov
301-427-2472

Chris Miller, Climate Monitoring Program Manager
Christopher.d.miller@noaa.gov
301-427-2463

Bill Murray, Climate Monitoring Program Manager
William.l.murray@noaa.gov
301-427-2476

Claudia Perez, Financial Management
Claudia.perez@noaa.gov
301-427-2461

Climate Observation Division
NOAA Climate Program Office
1100 Wayne Ave, Suite 1202
Silver Spring, MD 20910
Tel: 301-427-2466

Print
 
Categories: Our Work, General News
Tags:

x

CPO HEADQUARTERS

1315 East-West Highway Suite 100
Silver Spring, MD 20910

ABOUT US

Americans’ health, security and economic wellbeing are tied to climate and weather. Every day, we see communities grappling with environmental challenges due to unusual or extreme events related to climate and weather.