Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Home » CPO research will be presented at AGU Fall 2023 Meeting

CPO research will be presented at AGU Fall 2023 Meeting

AGU logo

15 CPO staff, research team members, interns, and one Knauss Fellow have in-person and virtual climate-related presentations, town halls, and leadership duties at the 2023 American Geophysical Union (AGU) meeting. The presentations represent a total of 15 abstracts. As leaders in the field, some of the staff will lead sessions and town halls while others are supporting authors. See the full list of CPO presentations at AGU below.  

Monday, December 11, 2023

Name: Frank Niepold

Number: INV11C-08

Presentation Type: Oral

Title: Empowering Climate Education: Leveraging the Fifth National Climate Assessment (NCA5) for Action and Empowerment (Invited)

Time: 10:45-10:49 am PT (1:46 – 1:49 pm ET) 

Location: 301-302 – South (Level 3, South, Moscone Center)

Name: Greg Frost 

Number: A13F

Presentation Type: Oral

Title: Geostationary Satellite Observations of Atmospheric Composition II 

Time: 2:10-3:40 pm PT (5:10-6:40 pm ET) 

Location: 3002 – West (Level 3, West, Moscone Center)

Name: Frank Niepold, Haley Crim

Number: SY13B-03

Presentation Type: Oral

Title: Interagency Collaboration for Climate Action: Introducing the Climate Engagement and Capacity-Building Interagency Group

Time: 2:27 – 2:34 pm PT (5:27 – 5:34 pm ET) 

Location: 2020 – West (Level 2, West, Moscone Center)

Tuesday, December 12, 2023

Name: John Coggin

Presentation Type: Oral

Title: Science Writing 101

Time: 10:15 – 10:30 am PT (1:15-1:30 pm ET)

Location: NOAA Exhibit Booth 

Name: Camila Rodriguez (2023 Lapenta Intern), Frank Niepold, Haley Crim, Jackie Beck, Zavier Avery (2023 Lapenta Intern)

Number: SY22A-02

Presentation Type: Virtual Oral

Title: An Analysis of Climate Services and their Recipients: a Look at Federal Climate Programs

Time: 10:30-10:37 am PT (1:30-1:37 pm ET) 

Location: 2020 – West (Level 2, West, Moscone Center)

Ginny Selz is hosting the C&GC Alumni Luncheon Tuesday, December 12, 2023 from 11:30am-1:30 pm PT (2:30-4:30 pm ET) at Marlowe, 500 Brannan St, San Francisco, CA 94107. Ben DeAngelo is providing remarks.

Name: Hannah Lohman (Knauss Fellow)

Number: TH23F

Presentation Type: Oral

Title: Best Practices in Research and Engagement for Advancing Equitable Climate Adaptation Alongside Frontline Communities

Time: 1-2 pm PT (4-5 pm ET)

Location: 2004 – West (Level 2, West, Moscone Center)

Name: Todd Christenson

Presentation Type: Oral

Title: Finding employment at NOAA

Time: 2:15-2:30 pm PT (5:15-5:30 pm ET)

Location: NOAA Exhibit Booth 

Name: Ginny Selz and Cheyenne Steinbergers (from OAR GOMO) are co-chairing/presenting and José Algarin is supporting

Number: TH25I

Presentation Type: Oral

Title: Tropical Pacific Observing System (TPOS): Community Opportunity for Input on Network Implementation and Future Process Studies Town Hall

Time: 6:30-7:30 pm PT (9:30-10:30 pm ET) 

Location: 2018 – West (Level 2, West, Moscone Center)

Wednesday, December 13, 2023

Name: Frank Niepold 

Number: ED31C-0919 

Presentation Type: Poster

Title: The Climate Literacy and Energy Awareness Network (CLEAN)

Time: 8:30am-12:50 pm PT (11:30am – 3:50 pm ET) 

Location: Poster Hall A-C – South (Exhibition Level, South, Moscone Center)

Name: Frank Niepold, Haley Crim

Number: ED31D-0924

Presentation Type: Poster

Title: Infrastructuring Engagement and Capacity to Accelerate Just Community Climate Actions

Time: 8:30am-12:50 pm PT (11:30am – 3:50 pm ET) 

Location: Poster Hall A-C – South (Exhibition Level, South, Moscone Center)

Name: Haley Crim, Frank Niepold

Number: ED31G-0938

Presentation Type: Poster 

Title: Designing a Climate Literacy Guide for the Climate Crisis

Time: 8:30am-12:50 pm PT (11:30am – 3:50 pm ET) 

Location: Poster Hall A-C – South (Exhibition Level, South, Moscone Center)

Name: John Coggin

Number: SY31A-07

Presentation Type: Oral

Title: Phoenix and Tucson: Contrasting Case Studies in Heat Governance

Time: 9:35-9:45 am PT (12:35 – 12:45 pm ET) 

Location: 2020 – West (Level 2, West, Moscone Center)

Name: Zavier Avery (2023 Lapenta Intern), Frank Niepold, Haley Crim, Jackie Beck  

Number: GC33D-1192

Presentation Type: Virtual Poster

Title: Impacting Your Community: An Analysis of Federal Climate Resilience Programs

Time: 2:10-6:30 pm PT (5:10 – 9:30 pm ET)

Location: Poster Hall A-C – South (Exhibition Level, South, Moscone Center)

Name: Todd Christenson

Number: ED33D-096

Presentation Type: Poster

Title: Workforce and educational outcomes of the William M. Lapenta NOAA Student Internship Program

Time: 2:10-6:30 pm PT (5:10 – 9:30 pm ET)

Location: Poster Hall A-C – South (Exhibition Level, South, Moscone Center)

Thursday, December 14, 2023

Name: Jin Huang is presenting, Lisa Vaughan is moderating 

Presentation Type: Oral Town Hall

Title: Advancing Global Change Research Through Interagency, International, and Transdisciplinary Collaborations: Opportunities, Challenges, and Rewards

Time: 1:00-2:00 pm PT (10:00-11:00 am ET)

Location: Moscone Center, Room: 2001 – West

Name: Jessica Garrison, Hannah Lohman (Knauss Fellow)

Number: SY43D-1071

Presentation Type: Poster

Title: Building National Adaptation Capacity Through Co-developed Research and Partnerships with Communities: Transferability of the NOAA Climate Adaptation Partnerships (Formerly RISA) Methodologies

Time: 2:10-6:30 pm PT (5:10-9:30 pm ET) 

Location: Poster Hall A-C – South (Exhibition Level, South, Moscone Center)

Name: Haley Crim, Ben Everett-Lane (CEE summer 2023 intern), Frank Niepold 

Number: SY43G-08

Presentation Type: Oral

Title: Solutions, Agency, and Hope: Insights from the 2023 Federal Listening Sessions on Climate Literacy

Time: 2:31-2:34 pm PT (5:31 – 5:34 pm ET) 

Location: eLightning Theater VI, Hall D – South (Exhibition Level, South, Moscone Center)

Name: Jin Huang

Presentation Type: Oral Town Hall

Title: Accelerating Applications and Collaborations in Interagency Integrated Research of the Water Cycle to Inform Water Management Under Global Change

Time: 6:30 – 7:30 pm PT (9:30-10:30 pm ET)

Location: Moscone Center, Room: 2002 – West

View the full agenda of presentations »

For more information, contact Amber Liggett.

Image credit: AGU

More News

Scroll to Top